The Band Council of Paqtnkek Mi’kmaw Nation serves 600 band members.  Council serve two-year terms, elected to office by community members.  Council members receive an honorarium for their services while in office.  Band Council members each concentrate on specific portfolios of duties and are not employed in any other capacity by the Band to discourage any conflicts of interest while serving the community.

Annual Honorariums:


Chief Tma Francis: $50,000


Kerry Prosper: $40,000
Anne Marie Paul: $40,000
Darlene “Dolly” Prosper: $40,000
Judy Bernard-Julian: $40,000
Jeremy Paul: $40,000